TEAS math guide
TEAS score requirements: what nursing schools ask for
There is no single passing score. Each program sets its own, and some set a minimum for each section as well as the total. Here is how to read the numbers, four schools' published rules, and how to find yours.
How TEAS scores are read
Scores are sorted into Academic Preparedness Levels such as Developmental, Basic, Proficient, Advanced and Exemplary. The cutoffs below are commonly published bands, not an ATI statement we could verify, so check them with ATI or your school: 58.7 to 77.3 is often listed as Proficient, 78.0 to 90.6 as Advanced and 90.7 and up as Exemplary. Many schools set their minimum at 58.7, the bottom of Proficient.
A school may also look at the math score alone. There are three common rules:
- Composite minimum only. The total score has to meet a number. Your math score can be low if the other sections make up for it.
- Section minimums. Each of reading, math, science and English has to meet its own number. A low math score can disqualify you even with a strong total.
- Competitive ranking. Meeting the minimum only makes you eligible. Applicants are ranked, and accepted students often score well above the minimum.
What four schools publish
| School | Minimum | Section minimums | Retakes and validity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Miami Dade College, School of Nursing | 60% composite | None stated on the page | One retake after a 30-day wait; scores valid two years from test date |
| Towson University, nursing | 58.7 (Proficient) or higher | None required; Proficient in each area recommended | Two attempts considered per application period; higher score used; must be TEAS 7 |
| Excelsior University, associate in nursing | 58.7% composite, in one attempt | None stated on the page | Two tests per calendar year; scores valid one year before application |
| Massasoit Community College, nursing | Not stated on the testing page | Not stated | One retake in the application year; uses TEAS 7; applications due February 1 |
The Massasoit row shows a common problem. The testing office page describes the exam and retake rules but does not state a score. If you cannot find a number, call the nursing admissions office and ask for composite minimum, section minimums and how multiple attempts are handled, all in one call.
What applicants report this month
People posting about their own programs in r/TEAS and r/prenursing in October 2026 cite minimums anywhere from 55% (a private LVN program) through 58%, 62% and 70% to 78%. That spread is the point: do not trust a number from a forum, a blog or a friend's program. Use your own school's page.
How to find your school's number
- Search your program name plus "TEAS" and open the nursing department's admissions page, not a general testing page.
- Write down the composite minimum, any section minimums, the TEAS version accepted, and how many attempts count.
- Check how long scores stay valid and the application deadline, then work backwards to a test date.
- Ask whether the best attempt, the latest attempt or the best section across attempts is used.
What the math minimum means for your study plan
If your school has a math section minimum, treat it as a target for the 34 scored math questions. At 34 scored questions, each question is about 2.9 points, so the gap between 70 and 76 is only two questions. That is why a short, focused study plan on the weakest math topics can matter more than it feels like it should.
Build the math score
Practice it on Lemma
Type each step and Lemma checks it. Free, no account, no email.
Questions
What is a passing TEAS score?
There is no single passing score. The band most often published as Proficient starts at 58.7 (check with ATI), and many programs set their minimum there, but each school chooses its own number and some also require section minimums.
Do nursing schools look at the TEAS math score by itself?
Some do. Some programs only use the composite, others require a minimum in each section, and many rank applicants by score. Check your program's admissions page.
How many times can I retake the TEAS?
It depends on the school and on ATI's own policy. Published school rules range from one retake after a 30-day wait to two attempts per year, and many only count the best of a limited number of attempts.
More guides
- Math topicsThe official blueprint in plain words, mapped to topics you can practice.
- Study planWhat to do each day if your TEAS is in 2, 4 or 7 days.
- Compared to paid prepATI practice tests, books, free banks, tutors and Lemma, compared plainly.
Sources
- Miami Dade College: TEAS: 60% composite, retake wait, validity.
- Towson University: TEAS: 58.7 Proficient, no section minimums, two attempts.
- Excelsior University: TEAS requirement details: 58.7% composite, twice a year, one-year validity.
- Massasoit Community College: nursing exams: retake once, TEAS 7, February 1 deadline.
- ATI Testing: TEAS exam details: section counts and times, scored versus unscored items, question formats.
Facts checked 2026-10-14. Independent practice, not affiliated with ATI or McGraw Hill.